Jason Kenney new minister of employment and social development

New portfolio replaces human resources and skills development
|hrreporter.com|Last Updated: 07/15/2013

Prime Minister Stephen Harper has announced a cabinet shuffle that has appointed Jason Kenney the new minister of employment and social development. This portfolio replaces the ministry of human resources and skills development.

Diane Finley, the former minister of human resources and skills development, has been appointed minister of public works and government services.

"These changes to the ministry feature both younger members of Parliament ready for new opportunities, and steady hands that will continue to deliver strong leadership in key portfolios. In particular, I am proud to welcome four new strong and capable women to the cabinet table," said Harper.

The four new female cabinet members are:

• Shelly Glover — minister of Canadian heritage and official languages
• Michelle Rempel — minister of state (Western economic diversification)
Candice Bergen — named minister of state (social development)
• Kellie Leitch — minister of labour and minister of status of women.

Four other new cabinet members were named:

• Chris Alexander — minister of citizenship and immigration 
• Kevin Sorenson — minister of state (finance)
• Greg Rickford — minister of state (science and technology, and federal economic development initiative for Northern Ontario)
• Pierre Poilievre — minister of state for democratic reform.
There was also some reshuffling among the current members.
Rona Ambrose is the new health minister and
Lisa Raitt moved from the minister of labour to minister of transport.  Lynne Yelich is the new minister of state for foreign affairs and consular services. Kerry-Lynne Findlay becomes new minister of national revenue.

Steven Blaney was named the new public safety minister. Peter MacKay is the new minister of justice and Attorney General of Canada. Robert Nicholson is the minister of national defence.

Tim Uppal was named minister of state for multiculturalism. John Duncan is the new minister of state and chief government whip. The new list of the official cabinet is available here.

Add Comment

  • *
  • *
  • *
  • *